GLOBAL IMPACT VIRTUAL INTERNSHIP

SUMMER SESSION

DATES & DETAILS

  • TAKES PLACE: 100% ONLINE (NO IN-PERSON)
  • SESSION RUNS: JUNE 20 – AUGUST 5
  • OFF WEEK: JULY 2-8  (4TH OF JULY HOLIDAY)
  • REGISTER BY: JUNE 1, 2022
  • TUITION DUE: $1,999 USD

JUNE 20 - AUGUST 5

MONDAYS & WEDNESDAYS

CORE CURRICULUM
OPTION A

SESSION 1
MONDAY & WEDNESDAY
05:00AM – 07:00AM PT
06:00AM – 08:00AM MT
07:00AM – 09:00AM CT
08:00AM – 10:00AM ET

SESSION 2
MONDAY & WEDNESDAY
08:00AM – 10:00AM PT
09:00AM – 11:00AM MT
10:00AM – 12:00PM CT
11:00AM – 01:00PM ET

WITH INTERNSHIP SUPERVISOR
AND OTHER INTERNS

TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS

CORE CURRICULUM
OPTION B

SESSION 3
TUESDAY & THURSDAY
05:00AM – 07:00AM PT
06:00AM – 08:00AM MT

07:00AM – 09:00AM CT
08:00AM – 10:00AM ET

SESSION 4
TUESDAY & THURSDAY
08:00AM – 10:00AM PT
09:00AM – 11:00AM MT
10:00AM – 12:00PM CT
11:00AM – 01:00PM ET

SESSION 5
TUESDAY & THURSDAY
04:00PM – 06:00PM PT
05:00PM – 07:00PM MT
06:00PM – 08:00PM CT
07:00PM – 09:00PM ET

WITH INTERNSHIP SUPERVISOR
AND OTHER INTERNS

SATURDAYS

THEMATIC
FOCUS AREA

SESSION S1
SATURDAY
08:00AM – 10:00AM PT

09:00AM – 11:00AM MT
10:00AM – 12:00PM CT
11:00AM – 01:00PM ET

SESSION S2
SATURDAY
11:00AM – 01:00PM PT

12:00PM – 02:00PM MT
01:00PM – 03:00PM CT
02:00PM – 04:00PM ET

WITH OVERSEAS HOST ORGANIZATION
AND OTHER INTERNS

PLUS WEEKLY

STUDY AND
PROJECT WORK

SCHEDULE
APPROXIMATELY

5 HOURS PER WEEK

COMPLETED SOLO
OR WITH YOUR GROUP

REGISTER FOR THE SUMMER SESSION
BY WEDNESDAY, JUNE 1ST

$1,999 TUITION TO REGISTER

JUNE 20 - AUGUST 5

CHOOSE A THEMATIC FOCUS AREA THAT MATCHES YOUR INTERESTS. YOU WILL COLLABORATE DIRECTLY WITH AN OVERSEAS HOST ORGANIZATION FOCUSED ON THIS FIELD ALONGSIDE OTHER INTERNS WHO SHARE YOUR PASSIONS. 

PUBLIC HEALTH
& MEDICINE

Make a difference in public health in India and South Africa

SATURDAYS

ONLINE FOCUS AREA SESSION
08:00AM – 10:00AM PT
(11:00AM – 01:00PM ET)

WITH Aii GROUP OF INDIA

In Collaboration With:

Aii Group

Region of Impact:

India and South Africa

Explore topics related to:

Building the case for public health campaigns and access to quality healthcare in India.

Why choose this focus area?

Although India has a vast and free healthcare system, there remain many differences in quality between rural and urban areas as well as between public and private health care. This can lead to poor health and higher mortality rates for certain populations, such as those living in more impoverished communities.

Learn how quality healthcare can lead to better health outcomes and can foster social change, especially in resource-poor environments.

Explore how public health campaigns are critical to community health outcomes. Also, discover how the quality of healthcare provided, rather than just access to, is a vehicle to address positive development as well as its impact on public health.

About your overseas internship partner organization:

Aii group is a registered social enterprise providing support to local grassroots, non-governmental organizations working on social issues like education, poverty, healthcare and development.

This organization is dedicated to providing residents of India’s at-risk and more impoverished communities with access to quality healthcare that is also delivered properly, with care. This can make all the difference in future public health outcomes.

UNITED NATIONS
SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOALS
GOOD HEALTH
QUALITY EDUCATION

CHILDREN
& EDUCATION

Make an impact in educational equality for children in India

SATURDAYS

ONLINE FOCUS AREA SESSION
08:00AM – 10:00AM PT
(11:00AM – 01:00PM ET)

WITH Aii GROUP OF INDIA

In Collaboration With:

Aii Group

Region of Impact:

India

Explore topics related to:

Building the case for education opportunity and access for children in India.

Why choose this focus area?

Education is critical to the success of children growing up in India, but access to school and other opportunities can be major social constraints on young people growing up in the country.

If you are passionate about making sure children have equitable access to education, particularly those from at-risk or impoverished backgrounds, this focus area is your chance to help make a difference.

From tackling concepts such as poverty’s impact on young people and what the education system is like for those from different socioeconomic backgrounds in India, to confronting specific challenges Indian kids face such growing up with HIV, you’ll learn what it takes to overcome obstacles for the benefit of kids.

About your overseas internship partner organization:

Aii group is a registered social enterprise providing support to local grassroots, non-governmental organizations working on social issues like education, poverty, healthcare and development.

This organization has adopted government schools to renovate and build a healthy atmosphere for students to learn and develop and are currently providing support to orphanages, schools, old age homes, animal shelters and women’s empowerment centers.

UNITED NATIONS
SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOALS
END POVERTY
QUALITY EDUCATION

ANIMAL & WILDLIFE
CONSERVATION

Explore the challenges confronting wildlife on the continent

SATURDAYS

ONLINE FOCUS AREA SESSION
08:00AM – 10:00AM PT
(11:00AM – 01:00PM ET)

WITH WILD CONNECTION OF SOUTH AFRICA

In Collaboration With:

Wild Connection

Region of Impact:

South Africa

Explore topics related to:

Building the case for sustainability and nature conservation on the African continent

Why choose this focus area?

As we move into the new decade, creating sustainable development options has become increasingly more important in society’s quest for a healthier and more ethical world. How can we meet the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs?

Together with experts, explore how interconnected our natural world is, diving deep into topics such as ecosystem health and nature conservation.

On this virtual internship, you will learn how improving ecosystem management and interventions that conserve endangered wildlife (as well as species vulnerable to poaching and the illegal trade) can make a meaningful difference.

About your overseas internship partner organization:

Wild Connection sees itself as a bridge organization, connecting nature lovers and conservationists with meaningful on-the-ground initiatives to combat eroding wildlife protections and preserve the natural world.

Student interns will collaborate on projects that focus on improving ecosystem management and supporting interventions that help to preserve and protect endangered species.

UNITED NATIONS
SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOALS
CLIMATE ACTION
LIFE ON LAND

COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT

PLUS SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Partner with Peruvian artisans to understand their unique challenges

SATURDAYS

ONLINE FOCUS AREA SESSION
11:00AM – 01:00PM PT
(04:00PM – 06:00PM ET)

WITH AMANO OF PERU

In Collaboration With:

Amano Marketplace

Region of Impact:

Peru

Explore topics related to:

Building the case for social entrepreneurship, slow fashion & responsible consumerism.

Why choose this focus area?

Many indigenous artisans across the Americas hold long-standing art traditions, from pottery to basket-making, to handwoven textiles. These handmade objects, while serving a utilitarian or ceremonial purpose, also embody the practices and beliefs of cultures that are at risk of being lost.

Artisans face mounting difficulties in preserving their traditions due to external factors such as globalization, technology and the recent pandemic.

Partner with Latin American artisans to understand the unique challenges that they face in preserving their traditions and explore how local governments, social businesses, and individuals can play a part in creating meaningful, systemic change.

About your overseas internship partner organization:

Amano Marketplace is a collaborative platform for Latin American artisans that was born in response to the global health crisis. They partner with 20+ artisanal groups, brands and organizations in an effort to connect artisans with the fair trade market.

Amano advocates for collaboration and the continuation of traditional techniques through design, stories and meaningful experiences.

UNITED NATIONS
SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOALS
END POVERTY
SUSTAINABILITY

SOCIAL
JUSTICE

PLUS WOMEN’S EMPOWERMENT

Empower women and children through education in Morocco

SATURDAYS

ONLINE FOCUS AREA SESSION
11:00AM – 01:00PM PT
(04:00PM – 06:00PM ET)

WITH ILCS OF MOROCCO

In Collaboration With:

Institute for Leadership and Communication Studies

Region of Impact:

Morocco

Explore topics related to:

Building the case for the importance of education in creating an empowered society.

Why choose this focus area?

Gender equality and women’s empowerment play influential roles in the success of Sustainable Development Goals around the world, and are necessary to achieve truly sustainable development both locally and globally.

For girls in the developing world, education can be seen as a tool to take control of their own lives.

Despite compulsory education laws and free education, many schools in Morocco are still inaccessible to women in many parts of society. Explore the multi-faceted complexities of education equality, and gain a unique perspective on what organizations on the ground in Morocco are doing to empower women and children through education.

About your overseas internship partner organization:

Organizations such as the Institute for Leadership and Communication Studies in Morocco are critical for the advancement of education in rural areas. ILCS is a private institution for higher education, which invests in the training of competent future leaders.

The mission of ILCS is to contribute to human development in Morocco by providing the local community with competent and competitive citizens.

UNITED NATIONS
SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOALS
QUALITY EDUCATION
GENDER EQUALITY

EARN COLLEGE CREDIT FOR YOUR INTERNSHIP
THROUGH PORTLAND STATE UNIVERSITY

$750 ADD-ON FEE TO ENROLL

JUNE 20 - AUGUST 5

COMPLETE A CORE CURRICULUM WITH YOUR PEERS AND THROUGH THE GUIDANCE OF YOUR INTERNSHIP SUPEVISOR. LEARN AND DEVELOP CRITICAL SKILLS THAT WILL SUPPORT YOU ON YOUR FUTURE EDUCATION AND CAREER PATHS.

CORE CURRICULUM
COURSES

BE THE CHANGE.

Develop essential leadership skills and build toward meaningful career development goals.

WEEKDAYS – FLEXIBLE TIMES

CORE CURRICULUM COURSES
MONDAY/WEDNESDAY
TUESDAY/THURSDAY
WITH YOUR GROUP/PEERS

36 hours of virtual sessions between core curriculum and focus area time over six weeks.

INDEPENDENT STUDY
AND PROJECTS

MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

Our part-time, flexible schedule is designed to work with your school and life calendar.

WEEKLY DURING YOUR FREE TIME

INDEPENDENT STUDY AND PROJECTS
AT YOUR DISCRETION
DURING THE WEEK
TYPICALLY COMPLETED SOLO

30 hours of self-guided project work or internship group engagement over six weeks.

OPTIONAL
OFFICE HOURS

JOIN THE MOVEMENT.

Check in with your Internship Supervisor, ask questions and discuss course projects.

AVAILABLE WEEKLY

MEET WITH GLA INTERNSHIP STAFF
OFFICE HOURS VARY
BY WEEK

WITH YOUR INTERNSHIP SUPERVISOR

Office hours are 100% optional but are available to all student interns on a weekly basis.

LOOKING FOR FINANCIAL AID?
LIMITED SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS ARE AVAILABLE.

APPLY FOR SCHOLARSHIP CONSIDERATION

AS A GLOBAL IMPACT VIRTUAL INTERN, EARN MERITS FOR YOUR EFFORTS. NOT ONLY WILL YOU RECEIVE A SIGNED RECOMMENDATION LETTER AND EARN OPTIONAL SERVICE HOURS, YOU WILL ALSO BE AWARDED A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION.

COMPLETE THIS:

66 TOTAL IMPACT HOURS

10 hours with host organization engagement
24 hours of skill development
2 hours final project presentation
30 total hours of self-guided project work

AND EARN THIS:

AWARDS AND MERITS

A professional letter of recommendation
A certificate of completion
Up to 20 hours of community service
Experience for college applications and essays

SIGN UP FOR THE SUMMER SESSION
BY THE JUNE 1, 2022 REGISTRATION DEADLINE

$1,999 TUITION TO REGISTER

WHY BECOME A GLOBAL IMPACT VIRTUAL INTERN?

  • ENJOY A 100% ONLINE EXPERIENCE, EXCLUSIVELY FOR TEENS AGES 14-19
  • COMPLETE A PART-TIME INTERNSHIP, IN PARTNERSHIP WITH A GLOBAL NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION OR SOCIAL ENTERPRISE
  • WORK WITH EXPERIENCED INTERNSHIP SUPERVISORS
  • MAKE A MEANINGFUL DIFFERENCE OVER THE COURSE OF SIX WEEKS
  • ENGAGE VIRTUALLY WITH YOUR PEERS THROUGH DISCUSSION, GROUP PROJECTS AND INDEPENDENT STUDY